This page has been automatically translated from French into English by a translation software. Automatic translations are not as accurate as translations made by professional human translators. Nevertheless these pages can help you understand information published by the City of Brussels.

Move to Brussels

Every newcomer in Brussels has to make some important steps.

The City of Brussels is one of the 19 municipalities of the Brussels Capital Region.

It includes following postal codes (PDF, 0,47MB):

  • 1000 Brussels: with the Pentagon (the city centre), the southern part Louise-Roosevelt (1050) and the European quarter (1040)
  • 1020 Laeken
  • 1120 Neder-Over-Heembeek
  • 1130 Haren

Map with quarters of the City of Brussels

Compulsory step

Steps bound to the move

Other, more specific steps

Discovering Brussels

Useful services


Living together




  • Changes at the Foreigners' Office

    Changes at the Foreigners' Office

    From 1 September 2016, the Foreigners' Office of the City of Brussels will only be accessible by email. Some specific administrative steps will still be immediately possible at the counter.