Coronavirus measures

The City of Brussels has taken several decisions in order to best respect the measures of the federal government in the fight against the coronavirus (Covid-19). More info: coronavirus measures by the City of Brussels. Please note: at the Administrative Centre & liaison offices, all citizens are asked to come alone, maximum 15 minutes before the appointment time, wear a face mask (obligatory) and disinfect their hands.


Nina Derwael wins National Sports Merit Award 2018

Gymnast Nina Derwael has won the Belgian National Sports Merit Award 2018. The award, created and awarded by the City of Brussels, is a prize for Belgian athletes or sports teams. In 2018, Derwael became both European and world champion on the uneven bars.

Sports prize of the City

The National Sports Merit Award (Trophée National du Mérite Sportif) exists since 1933. The City of Brussels, the capital of Belgium, decided to create the prize for Belgian athletes or sports teams who distinguished themselves. A jury of former sports champions like Eddy Merckx and Paul Van Himst, chaired by the Mayor of Brussels, selects a winner each year. An athlete can win the prize only once.

Laureats of the National Sports Merit Award since 2000

  • 2000: Joël Smets (motocross)
  • 2001: Kim Clijsters and Justine Henin (tennis)
  • 2002: Marc Wilmots (football)
  • 2003: Stefan Everts (motocross)
  • 2004: Axel Merckx (cycling)
  • 2005: Tom Boonen (cycling)
  • 2006: Kim Gevaert and Tia Hellebaut (athletics)
  • 2007: Kim Gevaert, Hanna Mariën, Olivia Borlée and Elodie Ouédraogo (athletics)
  • 2008: not awarded
  • 2009: Philippe Gilbert (cycling)
  • 2010: Philippe Le Jeune (equestrian)
  • 2011: Kevin Borlée (athletics)
  • 2012: Evi Van Acker (sailing)
  • 2013: Frederik Van Lierde (triathlon)
  • 2014: Daniel Van Buyten (football)
  • 2015: 4x400m relay (athletics)
  • 2016: Nafissatou Thiam (athletics)
  • 2017: David Goffin (tennis)
  • 2018: Nina Derwael (gymnastics)
Created on 08/11/2018 (modified on 08/11/2018)