Coronavirus measures

The City of Brussels has taken several decisions in order to best respect the measures of the federal government in the fight against the coronavirus (Covid-19). More info: coronavirus measures by the City of Brussels. Please note: at the Administrative Centre & liaison offices, all citizens are asked to come alone, maximum 15 minutes before the appointment time, wear a face mask (obligatory) and disinfect their hands.


Red Lions win National Sports Merit Award 2019

The Red Lions, the men's national field hockey team, have won the Belgian National Sports Merit Award 2019. The award, created and awarded by the City of Brussels, is a prize for Belgian athletes or sports teams.

The Red Lions, world champions in 2018, won the 2019 European championships. The regulation of the award allows a team to win the Trophy several times if the players are from different generations. This is the case in hockey. The Belgian men's field hockey team already won the National Trophy of Sports Merit in 1959.

Sports prize of the City

The National Sports Merit Award (Trophée National du Mérite Sportif) exists since 1933. The City of Brussels, the capital of Belgium, decided to create the prize for Belgian athletes or sports teams who distinguished themselves. A jury of former sports champions like Eddy Merckx and Paul Van Himst, chaired by the Mayor of Brussels, selects a winner each year. An athlete can win the prize only once.

Laureats of the National Sports Merit Award since 2000

  • 2000: Joël Smets (motocross)
  • 2001: Kim Clijsters and Justine Henin (tennis)
  • 2002: Marc Wilmots (football)
  • 2003: Stefan Everts (motocross)
  • 2004: Axel Merckx (cycling)
  • 2005: Tom Boonen (cycling)
  • 2006: Kim Gevaert and Tia Hellebaut (athletics)
  • 2007: Kim Gevaert, Hanna Mariën, Olivia Borlée and Elodie Ouédraogo (athletics)
  • 2008: not awarded
  • 2009: Philippe Gilbert (cycling)
  • 2010: Philippe Le Jeune (equestrian)
  • 2011: Kevin Borlée (athletics)
  • 2012: Evi Van Acker (sailing)
  • 2013: Frederik Van Lierde (triathlon)
  • 2014: Daniel Van Buyten (football)
  • 2015: 4x400m relay (athletics)
  • 2016: Nafissatou Thiam (athletics)
  • 2017: David Goffin (tennis)
  • 2018: Nina Derwael (gymnastics)
  • 2019: Red Lions (hockey)
Created on 07/11/2019 (modified on 07/11/2019)
Red Lions at the Grand-Place in 2018