Skip to main content



Every newcomer in Brussels has to make some important steps.

The City of Brussels is one of the 19 municipalities of the External siteBrussels Capital Region.

It includes following External sitepostal codes:

  • 1000 Brussels: with the Pentagon (the city centre), the southern part Louise-Roosevelt (1050) and the European quarter (1040)
  • 1020 Laeken
  • 1120 Neder-Over-Heembeek
  • 1130 Haren

The City of Brussels is divided into 7 quarters (districts): Pentagon (city centre), Louise, North-East, North, Laeken, Neder-Over-Heembeek and Haren.

Bapa BXL is a French-language reception agency for newcomers in the Brussels Capital Region: 

Bapa BXL 

The Expat Welcome Desk (EWD) offers a personalised administrative assistance service to all those who come to work in Brussels in or around the European and international institutions:

External siteExpat Welcome Desk


Last update on 19/06/2024

Link to the Your Europe portal

External siteGive feedback on this page